Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, it’s really more like I can’t handle the truth.

During a particularly meandering point in my session last week I remembered a family legend/myth that seemed pertinent but for a reason I couldn’t really pinpoint.

My mother miscarried several times before giving birth to me. The baby right before me was born alive and lived for several minutes, and was later buried with my grandfather’s mother. My mother was diagnosed with an “incompetent cervix”. She became pregnant with me. They gave her Diethylstilbestrol and a cerclage. When the pre-term labor continued they gave her alcohol IV’s for about four weeks. They said I had hiccups the whole time.

Anyway, somehow I survived all of this foolishness and after staying in the hospital for a few weeks for jaundice and an inability to regulate my body temperature I was allowed to go home with my mother (my grandparent’s house).

Well the story I’ve heard since forever is that it was like 11:00 am or noon and my grandmother being a nurse and all got anxious because my mother had not gotten up yet. She went into the bedroom and looked into the white, faux wicker bassinet. No baby. She shook my mom calling her repeatedly and pulled back the covers. No baby. Now frantic and crawling around on all fours looking for a new grandbaby under the bed. No baby. My mother finally roused herself with a disdainful tone and demanded to know why she was being woken up so rudely. “She is here in the bed with me!” she barked. My grandmother responded in a furious West Indian diatribe. My mother finally gets our of the bed and helps my grandmother rip all of the sheets and blankets off of the bed.

I was wedged at the foot of the bed in the very tightly tucked in corner. I was told all these years I had worked my way down there. In my mind I secretly held the belief that I’ve been trying to get away from my mother since shortly after birth. I tell Dr.K this with a rueful grin/grimace.

Dr. K looks doubtful. He finally says, “I find it interesting that you take responsibility for everything that happened to you, for instance you must have been trying to get away from your mother not maybe she kicked you to the bottom of the bed.” The statement just hung in the air as most of his statements do. I attempted to laugh it off even as I admitted it was a viable possibility.

When I relayed the story later to my husband I paused and he said “Well a baby that young can’t crawl she must have kicked you down.” Before I could even finish the story and I blurted out “That’s exactly what Dr.K said.” Suffice it to say I was fucked up for days. I come in several days later for another visit and I tell him about the miscarriages, the still birth, and how I kicked the stitches out of the cerclage so my mother had to stay on bed rest. Dr. K has an incredulous expression. “You mean to say, you were a fetus and you kicked out the stitches?!?” I have to sit there for a moment and think. I had TWO cerclages, perhaps they could be undone by very determined and unstoppable contractions, but a fetus could not kick them out. I had THREE children and none of them were ambulatory in any way, shape, or form at 5-8 weeks old.

The truth hurts, terribly and continually.

Anyway, I thought I had to skip a visit to get around my daughter’s graduation from Junior High and I was laying in bed with Pippo ( my stuffed hippo transitional object) I was listening to Sade and feeling sorry for myself and the phone rang. It was Dr. K and he said he had a cancellation and made a new appointment for me.

Sade was singing “Your daddy love come with a lifetime guarantee.” and I felt like I had a daddy that cared about me for that moment and it was wondrous.

Babyfather by Sade

We were waiting for the bus
No-one much around but us
Then I see this young boy cut a look at me
I’m stunned
In a daze
He had the whole street set ablaze
It’s only love they say
Makes you feel this way

She liked his eyes she wanted more
The baby gonna have your smile for sure
He saw a lovely girl
Smelling sweet and soapy like fresh air
She saw him looking acted like she didn’t care
That’s how we knew
And so love grew a flower
A flower that is you

Your daddy knows you’re a flame (x4)

Even to the angels it may sound like a lie
For you child
He was the troops and extra backup standing by
For you child
For you he’s the best he can be
For you child
For you he’s the best he can be
Oh child don’t you know
Your daddy love come with a lifetime guarantee

Your daddy knows you’re a flame (x2)
Yeah daddy love you child
Your daddy knows you’re a flame (x2)
Daddy love you yeah

It’s only you he’ll say
Made the young boy hungry for the man he is today
It’s only love, love, love, love
Can make you feel this way

Your daddy knows you’re a flame